FSU Women's Soccer

NCAA Division III Women's Soccer
in Frostburg, Maryland

Conference Champions
NCAA Tournaments

FSU Soccer Office:

our team  |  history  |   fsu soccer stuff  |   the university links homepage  |  

History Home | All-Time Varsity Roster | Media Guides | All-Time Series Results 

2000 20012002 2003200420052006200720082009


NOTE: This section of our site is dedicated to all the women's soccer athletes that have ever worn the FSU uniform.  It began as a project that former assistant coach Jamie Olson (Smith) had done for a class.  Using the links above, you'll find information about women's soccer players and teams at Frostburg State University and some photos from our archives for you to view and enjoy.  We always welcome additions or corrections by contacting the women's soccer office.
Alumni Profiles -- Jackie Donovan -- Heather Fleishell -- Tori Walter
The sport of women's soccer at Frostburg State University was elevated to varsity status in 1994 after FSU students had played soccer and represented the school as a club sport for approximately 10 years.  Ray Kiddy, a well-known regional soccer coach and an FSU men's assistant, was chosen to lead the program that year with more than 10 of the former club players participating.   Playing state and regional opponents, the women's soccer team had instant success and fielded winning teams in those early years.  In 1997, the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) was born with FSU as a charter member, and a more consistent schedule and the development of several rivalries followed.  It was Penn State-Behrend that turned out to be a periennal AMCC contender and FSU's primary adversary in conference play.  Behrend won the first 4 AMCC titles in women's soccer, often defeating FSU in the championship match, before Frostburg attained the honor in 2001 and won 5 conference championships consecutively - defeating Behrend on 4 of those occasions.  Behrend regained the title in 2006 after defeating FSU 2-1.  FSU had lost only 2 conference games in four seasons from 2003 to 2006 and went undefeated in regular-season conference play allowing only one goal in both 2005 and 2006.  FSU also won 1st round games in the NCAA Championship Tournament in both 2003 and 2004.  
2012 CAC Celebration

In 2009, the FSU women recaptured their final AMCC crown scoring in overtime after a tough Penn St.-Altoona team snatched the title in 2008 in a penalty kick shootout.  
Frostburg State began their new membership in the Capital Athletic Conference in 2010 renewing some old rivalries and beginning several new ones.   FSU reached the CAC Conference Final but lost in overtime before hosting the ECAC South Final and appearing in that championship game for the 2nd time in 3 years.  In 2011, FSU finally captured that ECAC South Region title winning 3 games at home in the tournament.

In 2012, FSU captured their first Conference Tournament crown since joining the CAC and earned another trip to the NCAA Tournament.  At the conclusion of the 2012 season, Adria Graham was named FSU's first-ever NSCAA National All-American.  After a shootout loss in 2013, the 2014 team once-again won the CAC Championship and earned another trip to the NCAA Tournament.    

FSUWS had won 8 Conference Championships in 2 Conferences and qualified for 15 post-season tournament appearances in 15 seasons, 8 in the NCAA Tournament and 7 in the ECAC Regional Tournament.    The team conducted 3 foreign tours visiting Costa Rica in  2008,  2011,  and  2018.
2009 Champs

The active players have consistenty maintained at least a 3.30 team GPA and are annual recipients of the United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award and the Team Ethics & Sportstmanship Award.  
8 players have been named to United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-Region teams and in 2012, 2 players became Scholar All-Americans-  Adria Graham and Stephanie Fazenbaker.  Melanie Bell and Gwen Schemm later earned Scholar All-America honors in 2018 and 2019.

In 2016, the FSU Hall of Fame inducted the first-ever FSU Women's Soccer player when Karen Kotofskl (now Parisi) was enshrined in October as part of Homecoming festivities.  In 2020, Amy Foote became the 2nd FSUWS inductee to the FSU Athletics Hall of Fame.

20009 Conference Champs!

The Division 2 Era!

In 2019, Frostburg State accepted an invitation to elevate the athletics program to NCAA Division 2 and join the Mountain East Conference.   In just the 2nd and 3rd years of the D2 transition, FSUWS won their MEC Regular Season Division and earned home playoff games in the MEC Tournament, appearing in the Conference Final game in 2021.   The 2020 "Covid season" was played in the Spring of 2021 so FSUWS played an official home game in the month of February for the first time in school history and won 2 regular-season championships in the same calendar year of 2021.

In the summer of 2022,

2021 MEC Champions

FSU women's soccer graduates are successful teachers, professionals, wives and mothers, and many are still players - all across Maryland and the region.